top of page

ISSUE no.1 IS HERE!!!!

I am beyond humbled, emotional, & excited to announce that THE FIRST EVER ISSUE OF GRLPWR ZINE IS NOW AVAILABLE & OUT TO THE WORLD.

To tell you a little more about myself, I have battled many chronic physical & mental illnesses for years. I almost didn't graduate high school on time, but then I pushed through & did that. I was employed for a while, but I lost my job. My boyfriend and all of my peers went on to college, and I spent every single day at home, battling chronic physical illnesses & multiple mental disorders. I felt like my life was going nowhere. I was suicidal, lonely, confused, and reaching an ultimate low in terms of self-love. My body dysmorphia, eating disorder, OCD, panic disorder, and depression completely took me over. I stopped talking to my friends, I stayed in bed all day, and I felt like I was worthless and just wanted it all to end.

On days where it wasn't so bad, I would go online & talk to my best friend, Georgina. Her & I are practically the same person, except she's stuck in Greece and I'm stuck in New York. We have pulled each other out of many dark times, & together we are an unbreakable force.

I told Georgina that I wanted to make a change, I wanted to help people struggling in the same way I was struggling, and maybe even help myself in the process. I told her my idea for GRLPWR, I mapped out the cover, the content, and some pages. Georgina was so supportive & excited & immediately jumped on board & helped turn this incredible dream into a reality. I made an Instagram account for us & started to work on this website out of excitement.

When people started sharing about it & sending in submissions.... I was stunned. I didn't think it would grow into what it has grown into. I assumed I would show it to my group of friends & some followers on twitter & it would be maybe 20 pages. I never anticipated or even dreamed of hundreds of submissions, tons of support & excitement, new friendships, & 80+ pages. I am so beyond grateful & excited.

This zine has really turned things around for me. I am living a healthier, happier, more positive & loving lifestyle now. I hope that everyone who participated in issue 1, and all who read it & look through this website feel uplifted, empowered, & spread the messages we put through in it around. I want to make a change in this world, I want to help girls everywhere, of all identities, ethnicities, sexualities, ages, beliefs. I want to give them a supportive, loving, enthusiastic platform to share their art & writing & advice. To meet likeminded people, form friendships, get help, get inspired. I want to make a difference in this world, even the slightest, smallest spark can catch people's attention.

Because of this project, I know I am beautiful, intelligent, spectacular, & capable of great & powerful things. I am an unstoppable force. So is my beautiful, influential, intelligent powerhouse of a partner & best friend, Georgina.

AND SO ARE ALL OF YOU. EVERY SINGLE SUPERGRL OUT THERE. YOU HAVE VALUE, IMPORTANCE, BEAUTY, TALENT, POWER. YOU HAVE A VOICE, AN IMPACT. AND WE WILL CHANGE THIS WORLD FOR THE BETTER. xx

Here's to you, to GRLPWR, to REMARKABLE WOMEN EVERYWHERE, & to further issues of GRLPWR!!! xox

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
bottom of page